Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Order Of Magnitude
Empath Live
Volume 1


Artist: Devin Townsend
Label: InsideOut Music
Release Date: 23 October 2020

InsideOut Music release Order Of Magnitude: Empath Live - Volume 1, a live recording of Devin Townsend's most recent tour. Recorded in December 2019 in London, UK on the penultimate night of the tour in support of his latest album Empath, this run of shows saw Townsend joined by an incredible line-up of musicians. The band was made up of guitarists Mike Kenneally (ex-Frank Zappa) and Markus Reuter (Stick Men, The Crimson Project), drummer Morgen Agren (Kaipa, Mats & Morgan, Frank Zappa), bassist Nathan Navarro, Haken keyboard player Diego Tejeida, and guitarist/vocalist Ché Aimee Dorval, as well as vocalists Samantha & Anne Preis and Arabella Packford...

If anything is obvious from this release, it's that a Devin Townsend concert isn't just any old event. This is more an interactive show with Townsend as showman bonding with his audience, poking fun at both himself and heavy metal... But most impressively the music touches on so many genres (including cheesy disco) that there's plenty here for everyone to enjoy. The "metal" is so melodic and accessible that even those who claim to hate the genre will be caught up just how well crafted the songs are. There's also a good mix of styles here to ensure you never get bored.

There's some very funny scripted set pieces, but of particular note is the band starting back up when he starts to waffle on and mention inappropriate things at the conclusion to 'Heaven's End'.

The album is available as a Limited Deluxe 2CD+Blu-Ray+DVD Artbook (including expanded artwork & photos); Limited 2CD+DVD Digipak; Standalone Blu-Ray, Gatefold 3LP+2CD vinyl box-set; and as a Digital Album. The Blu-Ray disc includes a bonus behind the scenes documentary, and both DVD & Blu-Ray feature a 5.1 surround sound mix. This review is for the Digital Album only.

This is not only the perfect release for Townsend's fans, but it's also ideal for any fan of heavy metal, or good old hard rock music. Townsend is not only an impressive artist, but also an accomplished showman. It's always good to be reminded that "frogs are nice".

Track listing:

01. Borderlands
02. Evermore
03. War
04. Sprite
05. Gigpig Jam
06. Coast
07. Gato
08. Heavens End
09. Ain’t Never Gonna Win
10. Deadhead
11. Why?
12. Lucky Animals
13. Castaway/Genesis
14. Spirits Will Collide
15. Disco Inferno
16. Kingdom


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Digital album