Click here to return to the main site.

Classical Music Review

Cover Image

Rising w/ The Crossing


Composers: various
Conductor: Donald Nally
Performed by: The Crossing
Label: New Focus Recordings
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 01 January 2021

Grammy-winning new-music choir The Crossing releases its 22nd commercial release, Rising w/ The Crossing, on New Focus Recordings. The album features live concert recordings from The Crossing’s archives, chosen by conductor Donald Nally for a 12-week series with daily releases at the time of Philadelphia’s sunrise during the COVID-19 pandemic...

Once again The Crossing knocks it out of the park with their latest release, Rising w/ The Crossing. The main thing you'll notice about this release is how wonderfully diverse the collection is. We have traditional classical/choral works standing side by side with more avant-garde pieces. Normally, tracks like 'Horo Horo Hata Hata' would have me reaching for the off switch. But when mixed in with the other pieces, it works really well.

Likewise, the opening 'Protect Yourself From Infection' I would normally not be a fan of. To me the "chit chat" style of delivery is a little self indulgent... but add in the wonderful harmonies and you have a beautiful track that is incredibly rich and multilayered.

The simplicity of the piano and choir set up on 'Lost Forever' makes this one of the most emotive and dark pieces on the album. It's subtle and painfully beautiful.

Another wonderful album from The Crossing. Those who normally shy away from choral music... well, this could be the release to make you understand what you're missing.

Track listing:

David Lang (b. 1957)
01. Protect Yourself From Infection (2019) [5:30]

Joby Talbot (b. 1971)
02. Lost Forever (2000) [3:46]

Ēriks Ešenvalds (b. 1977)
03. Translation (2016) [4:25]

Dieterich Buxtehude (1637-1707)
04. IV. Ad Latus From Membra Jesu Nostri, BuxWV 75 (1680) [8:10]

Paul Fowler (b. 1978)
05. First Pink (2016) [3:54]

David Lang
06. I. Our Land With Peace From the National Anthems (2014) [5:17]

Alex Berko (b. 1995)
07. Lincoln (2018) [5:45]

David Lang
08. IV. Keep Us free From the National Anthems (2014) [4:09]

Ted Hearne (b.1982)
09. What It Might Say (2016) [4:34]

Dieterich Buxtehude
10. II. Ad Genua From Membra Jesu Nostri, BuxWV 75 (1680) [8:00]

Ēriks Ešenvalds
11. Earth Teach Me Quiet (2013) [7:18]

Santa Ratniece (b. 1977)
12. Horo Horo Hata Hata (2008) [10:02]


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Digital album
Digital album