Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Shades of Love


Artist: Zoe Scott
Label: Zoe Scott Music
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 15 January 2021

Shades of Love is a meticulously curated collection of 12 hit songs, reimagined, by international recording artist, Zoe Scott, and produced by Bossa Nova stalwart and 10X Grammy and 2X Emmy winning, Moogie Canazio. Zoe honours the authentic style and original sound cultivated by Bossa Nova originators João Gilberto and Antonio Carlos Jobim, enlisting the talents of Bossa Nova legends, guitarist-arranger Torcuato Mariano, and Daniel Jobim, grandson of Antonio Carlos Jobim...

Zoe Scott delivers some impressive covers of classic tracks on her new album, Shades of Love. The 12 track (44 min, 18 sec) LP takes a diverse musical style from Burt Bacharach to Chrissie Hynde; The Beatles to Amy Winehouse, and gives them a Bossa Nova twist.

Sure, it won't be to everyone's taste. But if you're looking for a chill out album, with a lounge twist, Shades of Love is worthy of your attention. Scott has a hypnotic delivery with smooth, dreamy vocals. The arrangements here are also beautifully produced. There's nostalgic feeling of days gone by... a more romantic period of time.

Some classic, yet oddly rarely covered tracks, make this an engaging and unique release.

Track listing:

01. Quiet Nights (Antonio Carlos Jobim and Gene Lees) 3:46
02. I’ll Stand By You (Chrissie Hynde, Thomas Kelly, and William Steinberg) 4:08
03. This Girl’s In Love (Burt Bacharach and Hal David) 3:49
04. 7 Lives (Ze Ricardo and Carla Rigolin Hassett) 3:55
05. Wave (Antonio Carlos Jobim) 3:35
06. The More I See You (Harry Warren Mack Gordon) 3:05
07. Baby It’s You (Burt Bacharach, Mack David, Barney Williams) 3:05
08. Once I Loved (Antonio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Demoraes and Ray Gilbert) 4:18
09. My Cherie Amour (Stevie Wonder, Henry Cosby, and Sylvia Moy) 3:31
10. In My Life (John Lennon and Paul McCartney) 3:02
11. Triste (Antonio Carlos Jobim) 4:09
12. You Know I’m No Good (Amy Winehouse) 4:01


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Digital album