Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Nostalgia: Beats of 2008-2020


Artist: Beatchild
Label: BBE Music
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 29 January 2021

Formerly known as Slakah the Beatchild, now simply Beatchild, Canadian musician, producer and songwriter Byram Joseph returns to BBE with a retrospective instrumental collection, Nostalgia: Beats of 2008-2020...

Nostalgia: Beats of 2008-2020 collects 21 tracks (1 hr, 01 min, 40 sec) of smooth, chill out retrospective instrumental works. We'll skip over the cover, which would have made more sense if this was a compilation album from the '80s, and just delve into how cool and laid back this album is.

Unless you're a real expert on the genre, there is a tendency for all of these track to feel very similar in style. There's a lounge vibe on quite a lot of the songs, but rest assured it's a timeless LP packed with cool tunes. It's certainly one you'll get instantly lost in.

Track listing:

01 California Coastin' 2.0
02 Feel That Music
03 Soul Garden
04 Spontanium Rush
05 When The Night Stood Still
06 Butta Fat Vibes
07 Space Walk
08 Ain't Nothing Like Hiphop
09 Someone Like That
10 Overtime
11 Vibeke's Groove
12 The Only Difference (Dirty Soul Mix Instrumental)
13 Something Forever
14 Byram's Groove (Cut a Rug)
15 Macheeto
16 Living for The Rush
17 The Remedy (Instrumental)
18 Your Believer (Say Goodbye) (Instrumental)
19 Midnight Hustle
20 Somber Domber
21 Endurance


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Digital album