Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Live in Concert With the Sydney Symphony Orchestra


Performed by: Lea Salonga and the Sydney Symphony Orchestra
Label: Broadway Records
RRP: £12.99
Release Date: 08 February 2021

Known for her powerhouse vocals and perfect pitch, Tony Award winner Lea Salonga wows audiences once again with Broadway hits and movie greats, including songs from Les Misérables, Miss Saigon, Aladdin and The Greatest Showman. Her vocal flair is matched by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of Gerard Salonga. Lea – the voice behind Disney Princesses Jasmine and Mulan – celebrated her 40th Anniversary in the entertainment industry in 2018 with a special concert in her native Manila, Philippines. More recently, Lea has performed in the Broadway revival of Once on This Island which won the Tony Award for Best Revival of a Musical...

Live concert recordings can be hit and miss. Thankfully Lea Salonga is on wonderful form here as she belts out these iconic songs from musicals and movies.

You'd think for an album like this that the producers would mention somewhere where each song is taken from. Nowhere on the CD sleeve notes does it relay this information, so for the songs you aren't familiar with, but are interested in hearing the full album, you'll need to do a Google search.

It really is a cracking album, the orchestral arrangements are incredibly well realised. Classically based when needed and more up tempo on tracks like 'Boy Band Medley'.

Fans of musical theatre will love this album. Salonga is on fine form.

Track list:

01 - Overture (4:12)
02 - Feelin' good (5:22)
03 - Out There (3:15)
04 - Reflection (3:34)
05 - The Human Heart (4:04)
06 - Will He Like Me / Vanilla Ice Cream / Till There Was You (7:48)
07 - Journey to the Past (3:04)
08 - Why God Why? (4:53)
09 - Meadowlark (5:42)
10 - Children Will Listen (4:45)
11 - Drops of Jupiter (4:24)
12 - Will You Love Me Tomorrow? (3:52)
13 - A Whole New World (2:58)
14 - This Is Me (3:26)
15 - On My Own (4:31)
16 - Boy Band Medley (7:14)


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Digital album
Digital album