Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Devolution Series #2
Galactic Quarantine


Artist: Devin Townsend
Label: InsideOut Music
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 25 June 2021

InsideOut Music releases Quarantine, the second album in the 'Devolution' series of releases from Devin Townsend. Townsend has been using the Covid downtime to work on new material for upcoming albums, and for a current lack of touring possibilities and encounters with fans on the road he decided to do a series of live albums, quarantine albums, and generally interesting projects that keep people entertained while he’s busy on his next larger releases...

Devolution Series #2: Galactic Quarantine was recorded in 2020 in various places around the world as a replacement show for the Covid affected “Empath Vol 2 European Tour” and cancelled Summer festivals.

In stark contrast to #1: Acoustically Inclined Live in Leeds, Galactic Quarantine showcases highlights of Townsend's powerful metal music, rather than the acoustic setting of the previous album. While there's an obvious financial incentive for Townsend, it's great that he's releasing this material for his fans to devour. Not being able to tour and meet the fans, this is one way of showing them that he's still working on new material, while at the same time letting them know he hasn't forgotten about them.

As with previous releases, Townsend's sense of humour, wide vocal range and skills as a storyteller come shining through. An impressive album, made even more remarkable when you consider that the musicians weren't even at the same venue, with everything being accomplished via satellite links and green screen technology.

Track listing:

01. Velvet Kevorkian (Virtually Live 2020) (02:28)
02. All Hail The New Flesh (Virtually Live 2020) (05:32)
03. By Your Command (Virtually Live 2020) (08:18)
04. Almost Again (Virtually Live 2020) (03:42)
05. Juular (Virtually Live 2020) (03:50)
06. March Of The Poozers (Virtually Live 2020) (05:25)
07. Supercrush! (Virtually Live 2020) (05:15)
08. Hyperdrive (Virtually Live 2020) (03:42)
09. Stormbending (Virtually Live 2020) (05:21)
10. Deadhead (Virtually Live 2020) (07:55)
11. Aftermath (Virtually Live 2020) (06:51)
12. Love? (Virtually Live 2020) (05:21)
13. Spirits Will Collide (Virtually Live 2020) (04:35)
14. Kingdom (Virtually Live 2020) (05:05)
15. Detox (Virtually Live 2020) (06:20)


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Digital album