Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Innocence & Danger


Artist: NMB
Label: InsideOut Music
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 27 August 2021

NMB (formerly the Neal Morse Band) have released their fourth album, Innocence & Danger, via InsideOut Music. The band comprises Neal Morse, Mike Portnoy, Randy George, Bill Hubauer and Eric Gillette. With NMB’s previous two releases being concept albums, it’s interesting to note that Innocence & Danger is a series of unrelated songs, more in the vein of their first album...

NMB's Innocence & Danger, has a late '70s / early '80s rock vibe. On the opener 'Do it All Again' I had flashbacks of Genesis's Duke (1980). Meanwhile, there's a flavour of classic REO Speedwagon mixed with The Beetles on 'Your Place in the Sun'.

If you grew up in this time period you'll be in awe at how wonderfully NMB has managed to capture that feeling of more innocence times, while bringing that sound up to date for a modern audience.

The album contains 10 tracks (1 hr, 39 min, 36 sec). The final track, 'Beyond the Years' (31 min, 22 sec) feels like a mini rock musical in its own right.

I really loved this LP and honestly can't recommend it enough to all fans of classic rock.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

CD/DVD boxset
Digital album