Click here to return to the main site.

Classical Music Review

Cover Image



Composers: Various
Performed by: Voces8
Label: Decca Classics
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 27 August 2021

Decca Classics release brand new works and covers from renowned composers of film, electronic and alternative contemporary classical music performed by vocal ensembles Voces8...

Infinity is Voces8's new collection of meditative and otherworldly choral recordings, which transcends genres and features six brand-new compositions interspersed with eight newly arranged covers from renowned composers.

The sublime blended voices of Voces8 are intermingled with ethereal strings, harp, bowed vibraphones and, in one of the new compositions, a sample of the Sputnik satellite. The first single from the album, 'Scene Suspended', is a reworking of classically trained electronic artist and producer Jon Hopkins’ 2020 composition.

Other notable tracks including a recording of Þorkell Sigurbjörnsson’s composition 'Heyr himna smiður', a contemporary setting of a popular 13th-century Icelandic hymn and an emotive performance of Jóhann Jóhannsson’s 'A Pile of Dust', which features in the original soundtrack for the 2017 biopic The Mercy. Also featured is a new version of composer, producer and cellist Hildur Guðnadóttir’s 'Ascent' from her 2009 album Without Sinking.

The collection also includes six brand new compositions including 'The Universe Within You', a cinematic work from composer Stephen Barton, whose credits include original video game soundtracks for Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order and Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered; 'There is a Solitude', a cappella creation by composer and pianist Luke Howard with words by Emily Dickinson; and 'My Mind Is Still', composed by Nainita Desai.

It truly is a beautiful and memorable collection of life affirming pieces. This is an album that will touches your soul and free your mind.

Track listing:
(** New Compositions)

01. By Night (Sophie Hutchings)
02. Helium Life Jacket (Slow Meadow)
03. Scene Suspended (Jon Hopkins)
04. Heyr himna smiður (Þorkell Sigurbjörnsson)
05. A Pile of Dust (Jóhann Jóhannsson)
06. Find Our Way (Kelly Lee Owens & Sebastian Plano) **
07. momentary (Ólafur Arnalds)
08. Infinity (Anne Lovett) **
09. In the Shining Blackness (Benjamin Rimmer) **
10. Still (Ola Gjeilo)
11. The Universe Within You (Stephen Barton) **
12. My Mind is Still (Nainita Desai) **
13. Ascent (Hildur Guðnadóttir)
14. Atomos XI (A Winged Victory for the Sullen)
15. There is a Solitude (Luke Howard) **

(1-3, 7, 8, 10, 12, 14 arr. Geoff Lawson, 5 arr. Benjamin Rimmer, 13 arr. Robert Ames, 6 arr. Jim Clements)


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Digital album
Digital album