Click here to return to the main site.

Classical Music Review

Cover Image

Christmas Choral Classics


Composers: Various
Conductor: David Temple
Performed by: The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra and Crouch End Festival Chorus
Label: Silva Screen Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 26 November 2021

This is the third release in the Silva Classics’ Christmas Choral Classics series featuring the Crouch End Festival Chorus and The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of David Temple. The songs, new vocal and musical arrangements were penned by Evan Jolly, Paul Bateman and Paul Campbell. Following on the success of Christmas Choral Classics and The Greatest Christmas Choral Classics, the updated release features both Christmas favourites and contemporary songs that have, over the years, become part of the festivities ('Fairytale Of New York', 'Hallelujah' and 'Perfect Day')...

There's nothing like the run up to Christmas as a reviewer. We generally start getting into the Christmas spirit anytime from September onwards, when the first Christmas albums arrive for review. For some, that would be hell... But I truly look forward to hearing what Christmas albums are being released in the run up to the big day.

I'm a traditionalist and love nothing better than to listen to choral albums or brass bands playing old classics to get into the festive mood. Silva Screen Records' Christmas Choral Classics: Encore has all the hallmarks of an album that can be enjoyed for years to come. Alongside classics like 'In The Bleak Midwinter' and 'Once In Royal Davids City' are more modern pop songs that have been given a choral make over: 'Fairytale Of New York', 'Do They Know It’s Christmas?' and 'Perfect Day'.

If this doesn't get you in the mood for Christmas... then nothing will. Stick it on while you're putting up the tree, opening presents on Christmas morning and eating your turkey dinner. This is the perfect festive album. And I should know. I've amassed about 50 over the years, and this is an instant classic.

Track listing:

01. Amazing Grace
02. Hallelujah
03. Fairytale Of New York
04. In The Bleak Midwinter
05. O Little Town Of Bethlehem
06. Believe (From The Polar Express)
07. We Three Kings
08. Do They Know It’s Christmas?
09. I Saw Three Ships
10. Frosty The Snowman
11. Keeping The Dream Alive
12. O Come O Come Emmanuel
13. Once In Royal David's City
14. Sussex Carol
15. While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks
16. The Lamb
17. Perfect Day
18. All Alone On Christmas (From Home Alone 2)
19. Auld Lang Syne


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Digital album
Digital album