Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Music For Film


Composer: Gabriel Yared
Conductor: Dirk Brossé
Performed by: Brussels Philharmonic
Label: Silva Screen Records
SILCD1653 (CD), SILED1653 (download)
Release Date: 26 November 2021

Presented by Film Fest Ghent, Gabriel Yared: Music For Film, this reissued and expanded collection was recorded by the Brussels Philharmonic under the baton of Dirk Brossé. In celebration of Yared’s 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award and on the original album’s 10th anniversary, Silva Screen Records have reissued the original Gabriel Yared: Music For Film album, greatly expanding it with 50 minutes of additional music. The newly recorded pieces include ‘Ut Jucundas’, composed in 1992 for a Gaz de France advertisement, ‘Rosa’s Theme’ from Yared’s newest work The Life Ahead, ‘Elegy for Charlotte’ from Autumn in New York, the ‘End Credits’ from Amelia and the premiere recording of the City of Angels suite. The album also contains suites especially created for this album from L’avion, Les saveurs du Palais and Tom à la ferme and three previously unreleased tracks, recorded at the 2011 sessions, from L’amant, Tatie Danielle and Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky...

Anyone who knows anything about film music, will be well aware that Gabriel Yared has delivered numerous outstanding scores over the years. This expanded version of Gabriel Yared: Music For Film contains 30 tracks (2 hr, 10 min, 11 sec) spread over two discs.

This is a wonderful taster of Yared's skills as a master composer. There are several of his scores that I've never gotten around to picking up and this album gave me several more to invest in.

Diversity is key here. From the jazz-infused 'Nostalgia' from La Romana, to the gothic tango theme 'Tango de Limpasse' from The Moon in the Gutter, to beautifully melancholic suite from The English Patient... It's difficult to believe that this is all the work of one composer.

Any true lover of the soundtrack as an art form should own this album. Yared is a true master in the purest sense of the word.

Track listing:

Disc 1
01. The English Patient Suite
02. L’avion (The Plane) (From L'avion)
03. Cascades (From The Ark and the Deluge)
04. Oasis Terre (From The Ark and the Deluge)
05. Map of the Human Heart Suite
06. L’amant (The Lover) Main Theme (From L’amant)
07. Tatie Danielle (Auntie Danielle) Suite
08. Camille (From Camille Claudel)
09. Camille et Rodin (From Camille Claudel)
10. Ut Jucundas
11. Nostalgia (From La Romana)
12. La folie des docks (From The Moon in the Gutter)
13. Fugue de la Cathédrale (From The Moon in the Gutter)
14. Tango de l’impasse (From The Moon in the Gutter
15. Bon voyage (From Bon Voyage)

Disc 2
01. Homage to Maurice Jarre
02. Troy Suite
03. Syncopes (From The Talented Mr Ripley)
04. Lullaby for Cain (From The Talented Mr Ripley)
05. Crazy Tom (From The Talented Mr Ripley)
06. Rosa’s Theme (From The Life Ahead)
07. 37°2 le matin Suite (From Betty Blue)
08. Départ pour Grasse (From Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky)
09. Possesso (From Possession)
10. Les saveurs du Palais Suite (From Haute Cuisine)
11. Tom à la ferme (Tom at the Farm) Suite (from Tom at the Farm)
12. Elegy for Charlotte (From Autumn in New York)
13. City of Angels Suite
14. Wings of Courage Suite
15. Amelia End Credits (From Amelia)


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Digital album
Digital album