Click here to return to the main site.

Soundtrack Review

Cover Image

Back to the Outback
Soundtrack from the Netflix Film


Composer: Rupert Gregson-Williams
Artists: Alex the Astronaut, G Flip, Evie Irie, Tim Minchin and Thelma Plum
Label: Milan Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 10 December 2021

Milan Records release music and score for Back to the Outback, Netflix’s latest animated adventure set in the Australian Outback. The album features score music by composer Rupert Gregson-Williams as well as original vocal tracks from the film. Tired of being locked in a reptile house where humans gawk at them like they’re monsters, a ragtag group of Australia’s deadliest creatures plot a daring escape from their zoo to the Outback, a place where they’ll fit in without being judged for their scales and fangs...

In many ways Rupert Gregson-Williams's score for Back to the Outback harks back to the '90s. There were many instances when I was reminded of James Horner's output for animated movies, and on a couple of occasions his score for Jumanji.

The album consists of 26 tracks (56 min, 22 sec). Of these, 21 (43 min, 26 sec) are Gregson-Williams's score, with the remaining 5 (12 min, 56 sec) being songs from the film.

The songs are instantly disposable, nonsense pop - but work perfectly here. Although I particularly enjoyed Tim Minchin tongue in cheek 'Beautiful Ugly'.

Gregson-Williams's score pretty much covers everything. There's a theme and a segment of music for every eventuality. It's a pretty rich offering and has some great themes.

For fans of the film, this is a wonderful musical souvenir.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

Digital album
Digital album