Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image



Artist: Gilmore Trail
Label: Chasmata Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 21 January 2022

After a hiatus of six years Gilmore Trail return with their new album Impermanence, the follow up to 2015’s The Floating World. The first single from the album, 'Ruins', has already been released by Sheffield's instrumental rock band, whose members include David Ivall and Danny Mills on guitars, Joe Richards on bass and Bob Brown on drums...

Impermanence completes a trilogy of full-length studio releases for Gilmore Trail. It’s a record that finds them building upon the foundations of their previous work while broadening their horizons in the spirit of transformation and new possibilities. Having amicably parted-ways with drummer Sam Ainger right at the beginning of the recording process, it would be the recruitment of his replacement Bob Brown that would also set the trajectory and tone for the new album. A record ultimately about change, transition and uncertainty, the seven tracks of Impermanence each offer their own response to these underlying core themes.

It opens with 'Ruins', a slow, almost Hollywood western style track. The majority of the album is reflective and subtle. So when we're thrust into a more metal atmosphere, with 'Zone of Silence' it throws you a little off-kilter.

On balance this is a remarkably soothing and chilled out experience. It's also an album that you'll enjoy on the first play through, with your appreciation only growing with each additional listen.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Digital album