Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Chasing Horizons


Artist: Russ Hewitt
Label: Russ Hewitt
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 19 August 2022

Russ Hewitt releases his new LP, Chasing Horizons, a 10-track (43 min, 51 sec) journey through samba, montuno, milonga, fatback, rumba Flamenco, guajira, and four-on-the-floor grooves...

The first thing that hits you with Russ Hewitt's Chasing Horizons, is how chilled out the listening experience is. Sit back, close your eyes and you'll be transported to foreign climes. Over the course of these 10 tracks, Hewitt spreads the net far and wide, entertaining the listener whilst also clearly enjoying himself as he shows his dexterity with his instrument of choice.

It's the perfect album to relax to and will soon become one of your favourites to put on to lift your spirits.

From the slow introduction of the opener 'Allende' to the faster paced 'Vivir Libre', this is a wonderfully produced album that will leave you with a warm glow.

Track listing:

01. ALLENDE (04:13)
02. CHASING HORIZON (feat. Nuno Bettencourt) (04:54)
03. VIVIR LIBRE (feat. Marty Friedman) (05:27)
04. AMOR PERDIDO (feat. Bucharest All-Star Orchestra) (04:30)
05. LUMINOUS (05:50)
06. SUNSET SAMBA (feat. Jorge Strunz) (04:03)
07. LUNA (04:00)
08. CUBALIA CAFÉ (feat. Ardeshir Farah) (04:15)
09. SEREIN (04:30)
10. RETURN TO SIMITAI (feat. Tri Nguyen) (04:00)


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Digital album