Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Together in Vegas


Artists: Michael Ball and Alfie Boe
Label: Decca / Universal Music
RRP: £13.99
6 02445 77139 4
Release Date: 28 October 2022

Decca Records release Together in Vegas, which witnesses the pairing of Michael Ball and Alfie Boe. This, their fifth studio album together, sees the duo bring us classic Rat Pack numbers such as ‘Luck Be A Lady’ (Frank Sinatra) and ‘Sway’ (Dean Martin) as well as showstoppers ‘Viva Las Vegas’ (Elvis Presley), ‘A Man Without Love’ (Engelbert Humperdinck) ‘The Gambler’ (Kenny Rogers), and many more...

Whenever I hear that Michael Ball has a new album out (usually at Christmas) I'm probably not alone in thinking I know who would like that... My mum. However, surprisingly, I found this quite an enjoyable release.

The album contains 13 tracks (51 min, 44 sec) some of which are medleys, but all are delivered in that unique, but quintessential Las Vegas crooner style.

If you're not a Ball or Alfie Boe fan don't write this off. If you like any of the originals of the songs on this album I think you'll be impressed with what the duo do here. Backed by a full band, this studio album (it's not a live album) really strips each song down to its roots and builds it back up again. The end result is a collection of songs that the duo manage to make their own.

Track listing:

01. Also Sprach Zarathustra
02. Viva Las Vegas
03. Luck Be A Lady
04. Frankie Valli Medley
05. The Gambler
06. Sway
07. Just A Gigolo
08. Tom Jones Medley
09. A Man Without Love
10. That’s Life
11. Ooh Las Vegas
12. American Trilogy
13. America


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

Digital album