Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

Louis Wishes You a Cool Yule


Artist: Louis Armstrong
Label: Verve
RRP: £13.99
6 02448 11606 2
Release Date: 28 October 2022

Verve release a new collection of holiday songs that collects together almost all of Louis Armstrong festive recordings including the poem 'A Visit from St. Nicholas', set to newly recorded music by by Sullivan Fortner...

It wouldn't be Christmas without a bit of Louis Armstrong... but a full album? I don't know. It's not my first go to when getting in the Christmas spirit. However, for lovers of Armstrong's Louis Wishes You a Cool Yule delivers just about all the Christmas cheer you will need.

Most of these tracks I've managed to collect over the years on various Christmas compilation albums. A little bit of Armstrong goes a long way and I found myself wishing for a bit of Slade or Frank Sinatra just to break things up a little. In all honesty I don't think there's really enough material to warrant a full album. The 11 songs come in at 34 min, 37 sec and they had to include the - not renowned for being a festive song - 'What a Wonderful World'.

For that Armstrong fan in your life this is essential, if you're having problems working out what to buy them. Everyone else will probably get a little tired of it fairly quickly.

Track listing:

01. Cool Yule
02. Winter Wonderland
03. I’ve Got My Love To Keep Me Warm (w/ Ella Fitzgerald)
04. ‘Zat You Santa Claus?
05. Christmas In New Orleans
06. White Christmas
07. Christmas Night In Harlem
08. Baby, It’s Cold Outside (w/ Velma Middleton)
09. Moments To Remember
10. What A Wonderful World
11. Reading of “A Visit from St. Nicholas” with Sullivan Fortner, piano accompaniment


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online