Click here to return to the main site.

Music Review

Cover Image

True North & Stony Plain Records
Christmas Classics


Artist: Various
Label: True North & Stony Plain Records
RRP: £13.99
Release Date: 18 November 2022

Get a jump on your holiday programming now with this collection of holiday songs new and old to get into the spirit courtesy of True North Records and Stony Plain. Featuring a brand new rendition of 'Baby, It's Cold Outside' by Multi Grammy Winning (and 2022 Nominee) Taj Mahal with another multiple Grammy Nominee; Maria Muldaur. Other artists included are; Bruce Cockburn, Colin James, Roscoe Gordon with The Duke Robillard Band, Lunch At Allen's, Natalie MacMaster & Donnell Leahy, Craig Cardiff, Matt Andersen, Canadian Brass & Matt Dusk...

Over the years we've collected a substantial amount of festive albums. True North & Stony Plain Records: Christmas Classics is an interesting release in that it manages to deliver a balanced mix of classic and not quite so familiar reworkings of festive songs.

I want to single out Craig Cardiff's version of 'Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)' puts a slight spin on the original while staying faithful to the original. There's a slight question of whether elements of it are very slightly out of tune, but this is still an impressive track.

This is an album that will slot right in with your other festive albums which you'll be itching to get out and play over Christmas.

Track listing:

01 - Taj Mahal & Maria Muldaur - Baby It's Cold Outside (04:31)
02 - Bruce Cockburn - I Saw Three Ships (04:20)
03 - Colin James - Boogie Woogie Santa Claus (02:45)
04 - Roscoe Gordon with The Duke Robillard Band - Merry Christmas Everyone (04:53)
05 - Craig Cardiff - Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) (02:43)
06 - Lunch At Allen's - Old Tin Star (03:27)
07 - Natalie MacMaster & Donnell Leahy - What Child Is This? (04:15)
08 - Matt Andersen - Little Toy Trains (02:14)
09 - Canadian Brass - Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas (03:18)
10 - Randy Bachman - Takin Care of Christmas (03:34)
11 - Jimmy Rankin - Tinseltown (03:45)
12 - David Clayton Thomas - I'll Be Home For Christmas (03:05)


Nick Smithson